Mumbai Indians Team 2014 – IPL 2014 Squad List

The Mumbai Indians belong to those eight people who founded IPL in 2008. They constitute an authorized cricket team that represents Mumbai in the IPL tournaments. They are one among the major teams within the city excluding the Mumbai cricket team and Mumbai FC (football team). India’s biggest corporation, that is, Reliance Industries holds the ownership of the franchise.

In 2011, they were victorious in the finals of Champions League post defeating IPL contenders RCB by thirty-one runs. In 2013, the finals which were played in Kolkata saw the team earning its first title from IPL by winning against Chennai by 23 runs. Then by 33 runs, they beat the Rajasthan Royals to be victorious and again another title in the 2nd Champions League Twenty20 they played.

They play their home matches in the Wankhede Stadium as it is the primary home ground. Rohit Sharma is currently captaining the team with John Wright as the coach. Their mentor is Anil Kumble, the bowling coach is Shaun Pollock and the assistant coach is Paras Mhambrey. The fielding coach is Jonty Rhodes and Paul Chapman is their strength and conditioning coach. Others include Kinita Kadakia Patel as Sports Nutritionist, and physio by Nitin Patel and Robert Gibson. The leading run-getter of the team is Rohit Sharma whereas Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker.

In September 2007, The BCCI, that is, Board of Control for Cricket in India declared the launch of the Indian Premier League. It also decided to initiate a Twenty20 competition in 2008. In January 2008, the BCCI revealed those who own the eight franchises that were representing cities. The franchise was ultimately named “Mumbai Indians” and for $111.9 million, Mumbai Indians was traded to the Reliance Industries Limited (RIL). Within the league it was one of the most costly teams. For a period of 10 years, RIL owner Mukesh Ambani has gained the rights of the franchise.

Mumbai Indians Team 2014

Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Kieron Pollard, Michael Hussey, Ambati Rayudu, Aditya Tare, Jalaj Saxena, Lasith Malinga, Pawan Suyal, Sushant Marathe, Zaheer Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Krishmar Santokie, Corey Anderson, Josh Hazlewood, Marchant de Lange, Ben Dunk, Chidhambaram Gautam, Shreyas Gopal, Apoorv Wankhade

Related Posts:

Related Posts:

Get IPL 2015 Emails. Subscribe NOW!!

Enter your email address:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *